Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – New Zealand

Competition: Closed for the 2017 academic year

Who Applies: Canadian students and researchers

Description: The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan – New Zealand offers scholarships to Canadians for study or research at the PhD level that lead to a degree at a university in New Zealand. These scholarships are to be taken up at the start of the 2017 academic year.

Guidelines

Under the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP), a number of scholarships are offered by the New Zealand CSFP Committee, administered by Universities New Zealand - Te Pōkai Tara. These scholarships are available at the PhD level in all disciplines. The scholarships are tenable at the following New Zealand universities:

Scholarship Value

A scholarship under this initiative is for a scholar to undertake a specific course of study at a specific New Zealand university. The value of the scholarship is determined by each university and may vary from one university to another. It is the responsibility of the applicant to contact the relevant university to confirm the financial elements and allowances of an award. The host university reserves the right to make changes to the type or value of any elements of the award and / or allowance.

Each university's scholarship committee is responsible for the final selection, academic matters, and payments to scholarship recipients as well as for arranging travel, reception and other services.

The application process for acceptance to a doctoral program at one of the New Zealand universities and the application process for a scholarship under the New Zealand CSFP are separate processes. The offer of a placement to a doctoral program does not guarantee or imply the offer of a scholarship.

The scholarship generally includes:

  • airfare to New Zealand, for the scholarship recipient only, by the most direct and economical route and return airfare upon completion of the scholarship. The cost of any travel made before receipt of a scholarship is normally not reimbursed;
  • approved tuition and compulsory fees;
  • medical and travel insurance; and
  • an annual grant.

Scholarship Duration

Scholarships are tenable for one academic year, which must begin by the start of the 2017 academic year (February 2017). Applicants already enrolled in a degree program in New-Zealand are eligible to apply. However, priority will be given to applicants who are not currently enrolled in a doctoral program in New Zealand.

The scholarship can be renewed for a maximum duration of three years. The yearly renewal of the scholarship is subject to:

  • the availability of funding;
  • a good academic standing during the previous academic year; and
  • receipt of a satisfactory annual progress report from the recipient and their supervisor.

Eligibility

Applicants must:

  • be Canadian citizens; and
  • have completed an undergraduate degree with a minimum (A-) average or equivalent.

Applicants are responsible to seek their own admission to the universities or educational institutions of their choice and ensure the necessary admission requirements are met.

In addition, applicants:

Terms and Conditions

Scholarship recipients:

  • may be required to submit a medical report before the scholarship can be confirmed;
  • are required to satisfy the entry requirements of Immigration New Zealand. All scholarship offers are conditional on meeting these requirements;
  • must make travel arrangements to New Zealand in accordance with any rules and limitations of the university’s funding policy. Any additional costs must be covered by the recipient;
  • who bring their spouse and/or family to New Zealand will be responsible for their financial support during the tenure of the scholarship;
  • cannot concurrently hold other scholarships or awards;
  • are required to sign an undertaking to return to Canada as soon as their scholarship comes to an end. Recipients who seek or apply for New Zealand permanent residency while in New Zealand will automatically have their scholarship terminated;
  • are required to follow a full-time course of study and abide by the rules of the host university. Each university may have different policies, but in general scholars are expected to spend 11 months each year on full-time study. Any leave may be taken each year at a time agreed by the scholar and their supervisor;
  • may be required to enroll in a preliminary course of study by way of a bridging program. The time spent on such courses is part of the total period of the scholarship term;
  • may be required to pay the fee for the Student Service Levy at the host university which provides access to the Student Health Services;
  • are expected to reside in New Zealand throughout their scholarship, and to seek approval from the scholarship committee at the host university for any proposed visits abroad. Research outside of New Zealand is normally not permitted;
  • cannot seek an offer of employment or make other arrangements to stay in New Zealand either during or immediately after the scholarship term;
  • may work part-time in the area of tutoring or demonstrating duties at the university, with the approval of the supervisor and university scholarship committee. This must not exceed 20 hours per week on average throughout the year. Any fee by Immigration New Zealand for a variation of the visa condition is the responsibility of the scholar;
  • are expected to complete the requirements of the PhD within three years. Extensions to the scholarship, either in time or funds, are not guaranteed;
  • may have their scholarship terminated at any time due to a recipient’s unsatisfactory progress, conduct or due to the breach of any of the scholarship’s conditions; and
  • are responsible to determine with the Inland Revenue Department in New Zealand their tax status as scholarship recipients and as international students.

Deadline

The deadline for the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) online application form is 11:59 p.m. EDT, August 8, 2016.

Applications received late or incomplete by the scholarship administrator, the Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE) will not be considered.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that any documents sent by mail are received by the deadline. CBIE will not accept incomplete files. Supporting documents, other than the ones requested, will not be accepted.

An acknowledgement of receipt will not be provided.  It is strongly recommended that the applicant collect all the required supporting documents in sealed envelopes and send them to CBIE in one package by a method that provides confirmation of its delivery, such as a courier service or registered mail.

Notification

Applicants will be contacted by CBIE by September 12, 2016 regarding the status of their application.

Applicants must also ensure that a permanent email address is included in their application.

Final Selection

The final selection of scholarship recipients is made by the participating universities in New Zealand. The scholarships manager of Universities New Zealand – Te Pōkai Tara will notify all candidates of their decisions in mid-November 2016.

Application Process

To be considered for a scholarship under the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan, an applicant must complete and submit the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) online application form available on this site and provide the supporting documents as requested.

Applicants are recommended to list up to three universities, in order of priority, where they would like their scholarship application to be considered. The New Zealand universities will be involved in the final assessment process in the order in which they are listed on the online application form. Applicants who have listed only one university (first choice) will not be considered for a second round of assessment.

Late or incomplete submissions will not be considered.

All inquiries regarding this scholarship should be directed to: scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca.

Instructions

Applicants are encouraged to carefully read the instructions below before beginning the online form. If applicants experience difficulty filling out or submitting the form, they should send an email to admin-scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca.

Applicants must:

  • Complete the online form;
    • Individuals who do not have an account will first need to Register an account.
    • Under “For Canadians” section, applicants will need to go to the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan-New Zealand and click on Apply Now.
  • Enter data in the fields marked mandatory, following instructions for each item;
  • Upload all required supporting documents;
  • Upon completion, verify the data prior to submission;
  • Print the form for their records using the print function in the browser; and
  • Click SUBMIT to provide their form electronically to DFATD. The candidate will receive a confirmation message and reference number once their form is submitted.

NOTE: Applicants will have the ability to save their application and complete it at a later time. Both saved and submitted applications will appear on the applicant’s profile homepage.

Supporting Documentation

All supporting documentation may be submitted in English or in French, but pre-selected applicants with documents in French will be required to provide English translation.

The following documents must be uploaded and attached to the online application form in one of the following formats: .pdf, .jpg, .doc, .docx, .txt or .gif. Each document must be smaller than 5 Mb in order for the application to upload successfully:

  • Certificate of admission: certificate of admission from the host institution or copy of correspondence testifying that the applicant has requested admission and / or will have the support from a potential doctoral supervisor.
  • Proof of Canadian citizenship: copy of a birth certificate, citizenship card, or passport; a baptism certificate is not accepted as proof of Canadian citizenship.
  • Official transcripts: a transcript of all post-secondary studies to date (complete academic records including colleges and CÉGEPs) with the cumulative grade point average for each degree or certificate.
  • Study or research proposal: An essay describing your study or research plan. Applicants are expected to have researched the program,the research and supervisory capabilities of their preferred New Zealand universities (maximum two pages).
  • Copy of the diploma: for the highest degree obtained.
  • Proof of registration for studies in progress: including courses being taken (if applicable).

Additional documents to submit by email or mail:

  • Curriculum vitae: the curriculum vitae must not include photographs or any personal information such as a date of birth (maximum four pages).
  • Three letters of Recommendation: must be sent in PDF format, by e-mail, directly by the referees to CBIE at admin-scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca. The New Zealand CSFP Committee attaches great importance to letters of recommendation from people who are well acquainted with the applicant’s academic or professional work. Please note that:
    • where an applicant has studied at a New Zealand university or is currently doing so, at least one referee should be from this institution; and
    • at least two of the three referees should have taught or supervised the applicant in an area of study relevant to this application. Documents and email subject lines must clearly identify the name of the scholarship program and the last name of the applicant (e.g. Subject: CSFP-NEW-ZEALAND-last name of the applicant).
  • Artwork samples for applicants in fine arts, music and architecture are required as follows: Applicants in the history or theory of art, of music, or of architecture are not required to submit samples.
    • Applicants in the fine arts1 (painting, graphic arts, sculpture and photography) must submit copies or photos of three pieces of their work. Film-makers and video artists must submit at least one recent film, indicating when it was made, how the applicant was involved in its production and the running time. These must be provided on a USB Key, CD or DVD, be dated, and clearly identified with the applicant's name.
    • Applicants in music1 must submit a USB Key, CD or DVD of three original work pieces for a total of no more than 30 minutes. The recordings of singers and instrumentalists must be chosen from three different musical periods, except in the case of Baroque musicians, who must include movements from three different types of pieces. Piano accompaniments may be included.
    • Applicants in architecture1 must submit up to ten reproductions of drawings, provided on a USB Key, CD or DVD.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that these documents are received by the deadline.

The documents above must be sent to CBIE at:

Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE)
Attn: Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan – New Zealand
220 Laurier Avenue West, Suite 1550
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5Z9

Email: admin-scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca

Note: Recommendation letters must be written and signed by the referees and cannot be authored by relatives of the applicant. Relatives are defined as: spouse, son or daughter, stepson or stepdaughter, father or mother, stepfather or stepmother, brother or sister, half-brother or half-sister, stepbrother or stepsister, father- or mother-in-law, son- or daughter-in-law, and brother- or sister-in-law.

Review Procedures

All applications received by the deadline that meet the eligibility requirements will be evaluated by the Canadian Scholarship Selection Committee.

The Canadian Scholarship Selection Committee:

  • is made up of individuals from the academic community representing all regions of Canada, both official language groups and a wide variety of academic disciplines; and
  • reviews, evaluates and ranks candidates to recommend a list of pre-selected candidates.

Applications will be reviewed by the Canadian Scholarship Selection Committee using the following criteria:

  • the merits and overall credentials of the applicant, including academic and/or professional experience;
  • the quality of the study and research proposal and how well applicants have researched the program and the research and supervisory capabilities of their preferred New Zealand universities;
  • the candidate’s university grade point average (GPA);
  • the level of completeness and detail put into the preparation of the application; and
  • the quality of the recommendation letters which attest to the candidate’s ability to perform and to succeed as a scholarship recipient.

Preselected applications will be nominated to the New Zealand CSFP Committee where the final selection of scholarship recipients will be made. The results will be communicated to CBIE in November 2016. Notification will be sent out to all pre-selected candidates in November 2016 by Universities New Zealand - Te Pōkai Tara.

Conditions

All recommendations of the Canadian Scholarship Selection Committee and decisions made by the New Zealand CSFP Committee are final and are not open to appeal.

The Canadian Scholarship Selection Committee is not able to provide feedback to unsuccessful candidates.

Applications submitted directly to the High Commission of New Zealand will not be considered.

These scholarships are subject to the availability of funding provided by the participating universities in New Zealand.


1Only samples as specified above will be presented to the Selection Committee. Samples can be returned following the competition; please indicate the return address. However CBIE, while taking all reasonable care, cannot be held responsible for the loss or damage of artwork samples.

About

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) was established in 1959, with the first scholars selected in 1960. The Plan was suggested in an influential speech in September 1958 by Sidney Smith, a former President of the University of Toronto and later Canadian Minister of External Affairs. The goal of the Plan is to nurture educational links among Commonwealth countries and to strengthen the ideals upon which the Commonwealth was founded. The Plan aims to make awards available to people of high intellectual promise who are expected to make a significant contribution to life in their own countries on their return from study abroad. Over 27,000 Commonwealth citizens have held awards - many going on to reach the very highest levels within their profession.

In New Zealand, the CSFP is administered by Universities New Zealand - Te Pōkai Tara.

Annually, the New Zealand CSFP Committee offers a total of eight scholarships to Canada and the UK. All applications from Canada and the UK will be assessed on merit by the New Zealand CSFP Committee.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-08-09

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) - Nouvelle-Zélande

Concours : Ouvert pour l'année académique 2017

Date limite : Le 8 août 2016

Qui soumet la demande : Étudiants et chercheurs canadiens

Description : Les bourses d'études du Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan sont offertes aux Canadiens pour des études ou de la recherche de niveau doctorat menant à un diplôme à une université de Nouvelle-Zélande. Ces bourses sont attribuées  pour l’année académique 2017.

Lignes directrices

Dans le cadre du Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) (anglais seulement), un certain nombre de bourses sont offertes par le Comité du CSFP de la Nouvelle-Zélande, administré par Universities New Zealand - Te Pōkai Tara (anglais seulement). Ces bourses d'études sont disponibles au niveau du doctorat dans toutes les disciplines. Les programmes assujettis à des droits de scolarité plus élevés que la normale ne sont pas admissibles au titre du CSFP.

Les bourses sont valables dans les universités néo-zélandaises suivantes :

Valeur des bourses

Les bourses de ce programme sont destinées aux étudiants et aux chercheurs souhaitant poursuivre un programme d’études particulier dans une université néo-zélandaise donnée. La valeur de la bourse est déterminée par chaque université et peut varier d’une université à l’autre. Il incombe aux candidats de communiquer avec l’université de leur choix afin de connaître les modalités financières et le montant de la bourse. L’université d’accueil se réserve le droit d’apporter des changements au type ou à la valeur d’un ou plusieurs éléments de la bourse et/ou de son montant.

Le comité des bourses de chaque université est responsable de la sélection finale, des questions relatives à l’enseignement, des paiements aux boursiers, des arrangements de voyage, de l'accueil et des autres services.

Le processus de demande d'admission, à un programme de doctorat dans l'une des universités de la Nouvelle-Zélande, et le processus de demande de bourse, dans le cadre du Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan - Nouvelle-Zélande, sont des processus distincts. L'admission à un programme de doctorat ne garantit pas l’offre d’une bourse ni ne l’implique.

En général, les bourses incluent :

  • un billet d’avion aller simple à destination de la Nouvelle-Zélande pour le boursier seulement, au tarif le plus économique et selon l’itinéraire le plus direct, et un billet de retour à la fin de la période visée par la bourse. Les frais de déplacement engagés par un candidat avant l'obtention d'une bourse ne sont habituellement pas remboursés;
  • les droits de scolarité et les frais obligatoires préalablement autorisés;
  • des assurances médicales et de voyage;
  • une allocation annuelle.

Durée des bourses

Cette bourse est valable pour une année d’études et doit être entamée au plus tard au début de l’année universitaire 2017 (février 2017). Les candidats qui sont déjà inscrits à un programme menant à un diplôme en Nouvelle-Zélande sont admissibles et peuvent se porter candidats. Cependant, la priorité sera donnée aux candidats qui ne sont pas déjà inscrits à un programme de doctorat en Nouvelle-Zélande.

La bourse peut être renouvelée pour une période totale de trois ans. Le renouvellement annuel est assujetti aux conditions suivantes :

  • les fonds sont disponibles;
  • un bon rendement au cours de l’année universitaire précédente;
  • la présentation d’un rapport d’étape annuel satisfaisant par le boursier et son superviseur.

Admissibilité

Les candidats doivent :

  • être citoyens canadiens;
  • avoir obtenu un diplôme universitaire de premier cycle avec au moins une moyenne de (A-) ou équivalente.

Les candidats sont tenus de s’occuper de leur propre admission à l’université ou établissement d’enseignement de leur choix et faire en sorte de respecter les exigences d’admission nécessaires.

De plus, les candidats :

Modalités

Les boursiers :

  • peuvent être tenus de présenter un rapport médical pour que la bourse puisse être confirmée;
  • sont tenus de satisfaire aux exigences d’entrée sur le territoire d’Immigration New Zealand. Les offres de bourse sont conditionnelles au respect de ces exigences;
  • doivent s’occuper de leurs préparatifs de voyage en Nouvelle-Zélande conformément aux règles et limites imposées par la politique de financement de l’université d’accueil. Tous les coûts supplémentaires doivent être couverts par le boursier;
  • qui sont accompagnés par leur conjoint ou leur famille en Nouvelle-Zélande sont tenus de les prendre en charge financièrement pendant la durée de la bourse;
  • ne peuvent bénéficier simultanément d’autres bourses;
  • devront signer un engagement à revenir au Canada dès la fin de leur bourse. Les boursiers qui postulent ou qui cherchent à obtenir la résidence permanente en Nouvelle-Zélande pendant leur séjour verront leur bourse révoquée automatiquement;
  • doivent suivre un programme d’études à temps plein et respecter le règlement de l’université d’accueil. Les exigences peuvent varier d’une université à l’autre, mais en général, les boursiers doivent passer 11 mois de l’année aux études à temps plein. Les pauses sont possibles chaque année à un moment convenus par les boursiers et leur superviseur;
  • peuvent être tenus de s’inscrire à un programme d’études préliminaire sous la forme d’un programme de transition. Le temps consacré à ces cours fait partie intégrante de la durée de la bourse;
  • peuvent être tenus d’acquitter les frais du Student Service Levy à l’université d’accueil, qui donne accès aux services de santé étudiants;
  • doivent habiter en Nouvelle-Zélande pendant toute la durée de leur bourse et demander l’approbation du comité des bourses de leur université d’accueil s’ils souhaitent se rendre à l’étranger. La recherche à l’extérieur de la Nouvelle-Zélande n’est normalement pas permise;
  • ne peuvent chercher un emploi rémunéré ni prendre d’autres dispositions pour rester en Nouvelle-Zélande pendant la durée de leur bourse ni après celle-ci;
  • peuvent travailler à temps partiel en tutorat ou enseigner à l’université d’accueil, avec l’approbation du superviseur et du comité des bourses de l’université. Ce travail ne peut dépasser 20 heures par semaine en moyenne pendant l’année. Tous frais d’Immigration New-Zealand de variation des conditions de visa sont la responsabilité des boursiers;
  • doivent satisfaire aux exigences du doctorat dans l’espace de trois ans. Les prolongations de bourse (temps et financement) ne sont pas garanties;
  • peuvent se voir retirer la bourse à tout moment en l'absence de progrès satisfaisants, pour un comportement inacceptable ou pour avoir dérogé aux conditions rattachées à la bourse;
  • sont chargés d’établir leur statut fiscal auprès du Inland Revenue Department en Nouvelle-Zélande à titre de boursiers et d’étudiants internationaux.

Échéance

La date d’échéance pour soumettre le formulaire de demande en ligne d’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement (MAECD) est le 8 août 2016, 23 h 59 HDE.

Les demandes incomplètes ou reçues en retard par l’administrateur de la bourse, le Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale (BCEI), ne seront pas considérées.

Il incombe au candidat de s’assurer que tous les documents à l’appui envoyés par la poste et par courriel sont reçus avant la date d’échéance. Le BCEI n’acceptera pas les demandes incomplètes. Les documents à l'appui, autres que ceux demandés, ne seront pas acceptés.

Aucun accusé réception ne sera fourni. Il est vivement recommandé que les candidats mettent tous les documents à l’appui obligatoires dans une enveloppe scellée et de l’envoyer au BCEI, d’une façon qui donne confirmation de la livraison, comme un service de messagerie ou de courrier recommandé.

Notification

Le BCEI communiquera aux candidats l’état de leur demande avant le 12 septembre 2016.

Les candidats doivent s’assurer d’inscrire une adresse de courriel permanente dans leur formulaire de demande.

Sélection finale

La sélection finale des boursiers est faite par les universités participantes en Nouvelle-Zélande. Le chargé de programme de Universities New-Zealand - Te Pōkai Tara informera tous les candidats de la décision à la mi-novembre 2016.

Présentation des candidatures

Pour qu’une demande au Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan soit considérée, le candidat doit remplir le formulaire de demande en ligne d’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) disponible sur ce site et fournir les documents à l’appui demandés.

Les candidats sont invités à indiquer, en ordre de priorité, jusqu'à trois universités dans lesquelles ils préfèrent que leur demande de bourse soit considérée. Les universités seront invitées à participer au processus d'évaluation selon l'ordre dans lequel elles figurent dans le formulaire de demande en ligne. Les candidats qui ont inscrit une seule université (leur premier choix) ne seront pas considérés pour une deuxième ronde d’évaluation.

Les demandes incomplètes ou soumises après la date limite ne seront pas considérées.

Toutes les demandes de renseignements concernant cette bourse doivent être adressées à : scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca.

Directives

Les candidats sont invités à lire attentivement les renseignements ci-dessous avant d’amorcer la demande en ligne. Si les candidats éprouvent des difficultés à remplir ou à soumettre leur demande, ils peuvent envoyer un courriel à admin-scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca.

Les candidats doivent :

  • remplir le formulaire en ligne;
    • Les personnes qui n’ont pas de compte doivent d’abord en créer un.
    • Sous la rubrique « pour les Canadiens », les candidats doivent aller à « Programme de bourses du Commonwealth – Nouvelle-Zélande » et cliquer sur Faire une demande.
  • entrer les données dans tous les champs obligatoires en suivant les instructions pour chaque élément;
  • télécharger tous les documents à l’appui demandés;
  • vérifier toutes les données, une fois le formulaire rempli, avant de le soumettre;
  • obtenir une copie papier de leur demande pour leur dossier personnel en utilisant la fonction « impression » du navigateur avant de soumettre la demande;
  • cliquer sur « SOUMETTRE » pour envoyer la demande électroniquement au MAECD.

NOTE : Les candidats auront la possibilité de sauvegarder leur demande et de continuer à la remplir à une date ultérieure. Les demandes sauvegardées et soumises apparaîtront sur le profil de la page d’accueil du candidat.

Documents à l’appui

Tous les documents à l'appui peuvent être soumis en anglais ou en français. Cependant les candidats présélectionnés devront fournir une traduction vers l’anglais.

Les documents suivants doivent être téléchargés et joints au formulaire de demande en ligne dans l’un des formats suivants : .pdf, .jpg, .doc, .docx, .txt ou .gif. La taille de chaque document doit être inférieure à 5 Mo afin de pouvoir télécharger le document.

  • Certificat d'admission : un certificat d’admission de l’établissement d’accueil ou une copie de la correspondance attestant qu’une demande d'admission a été soumise et/ou que le candidat aura le soutien d’un superviseur doctoral potentiel.
  • Preuve de citoyenneté canadienne : la copie du certificat de naissance, de la carte de citoyenneté ou du passeport ; le certificat de baptême n'est pas accepté comme preuve de citoyenneté canadienne.
  • Relevés de notes : les relevés de notes officiels de toutes les études postsecondaires effectuées (un dossier scolaire complet, incluant les relevés de collège et de CÉGEP) avec la moyenne cumulative de chaque diplôme ou certificat.
  • Proposition d’étude ou de recherche : un essai décrivant le plan d’études ou de recherche proposé. Les candidats doivent avoir fait des recherches sur le programme et les capacités de recherches et de supervision de leurs universités de choix en Nouvelle-Zélande (maximum deux pages).
  • Copie du diplôme : pour le diplôme le plus élevé obtenu.
  • Preuve d’inscription en cours à des études : y compris les cours suivis (le cas échéant).

Les documents suivants doivent être envoyés par poste ou courriel :

  • Curriculum vitae : le curriculum vitae ne doit pas contenir de photos ni d’information personnelle telle que la date de naissance (quatre pages au maximum).
  • Trois lettres de recommandation : envoyées directement par les répondants en format PDF au BCEI à admin-scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca. Le Comité du CSFP de la Nouvelle-Zélande accorde beaucoup d’importance aux recommandations données par des personnes qui connaissent bien le travail universitaire ou professionnel du candidat. Veuillez noter que :
    • lorsqu'un candidat a déjà poursuivi, ou poursuit actuellement, des études dans une université néo-zélandaise, au moins un de ses répondants doit provenir de l'établissement en question;
    • au moins deux des trois répondants devraient avoir enseigné le candidat ou l’avoir dirigé dans le champ d'études relié à sa demande. Les titres des documents et l’objet du courriel doivent clairement indiquer le nom du programme de bourses et le nom de famille du candidat (par ex. : CSFP-NOUVELLE-ZÉLANDE - nom de famille du candidat).
  • Échantillons de travaux artistiques pour les candidats en beaux-arts, en musique et en architecturesont les suivants (les candidats en histoire ou en théorie de l'art, de la musique ou de l'architecture n'ont pas à soumettre d'échantillons) :
    • Les candidats dans les domaines des beaux-arts1 (peinture, arts graphiques, sculpture et photographie) doivent soumettre jusqu'à trois diapositives ou copies d’œuvres originales. Les cinéastes et les vidéastes doivent soumettre au moins un film récent en indiquant la date de production, la nature de la participation du candidat et la durée. Les films et vidéos doivent être fournis sur une clé USB, un CD ou un DVD portant la date et une mention précise du nom du candidat.
    • Les candidats en musique1 doivent soumettre une clé USB, un CD ou un DVD avec trois œuvres totalisant au plus 30 minutes. Les enregistrements des chanteurs et instrumentistes doivent être choisis parmi trois périodes musicales différentes, sauf dans le cas des musiciens baroques, qui doivent inclure des mouvements de trois types différents de pièces. Des accompagnements au piano peuvent être inclus.
    • Les candidats en architecture1 doivent soumettre jusqu'à dix reproductions de dessins sur une clé USB, un CD ou un DVD.

Il incombe au candidat de faire en sorte que ces documents soient reçus avant la date limite.

Les documents ci-dessus doivent être envoyés au BCEI à :

Bureau canadien de l'éducation internationale (BCEI)
À l'attention de : Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan – Nouvelle-Zélande
220, avenue Laurier Ouest, bureau 1550
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5Z9
Courriel : admin-scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca 

À noter : Les lettres de recommandation doivent être rédigées et signées par les répondants et ne peuvent être rédigées par des membres de la famille du candidat. Le terme « membre de la famille » s’entend des époux, enfants, beaux-enfants, parents, beaux-parents, frères et sœurs, demi-frères et demi-sœurs, gendres et brus et beaux-frères et belles-sœurs.

Procédure d'examen

Toutes les demandes reçues avant la date limite et conformes aux exigences d’admissibilité seront évaluées par le comité de sélection canadien des bourses.

Le Comité canadien de sélection des boursiers :

  • se compose de personnes de la communauté académique représentant toutes les régions du Canada, des deux groupes de langues officielles et de différentes disciplines scolaires;
  • analyse, évalue et classe les candidats pour recommander une liste de candidats retenus pour la deuxième phase de sélection.

Les demandes seront évaluées par le Comité canadien de sélection des boursiers selon les critères suivants :

  • le mérite et les titres généraux du candidat, dont son expérience académique et/ou scolaire;
  • la qualité des études ou des recherches proposées et la façon dont le candidat a fait des recherches sur le programme et les capacités de recherche et de supervision de ses universités néo-zélandaises préférées;
  • la moyenne pondérée cumulative (MPC) d’université du candidat;
  • le niveau de complétude et de détails attachés à la préparation de la demande;
  • la qualité des lettres de recommandations, qui attestent de la capacité du candidat à obtenir des résultats et à réussir en tant que boursier.

Les candidats présélectionnés seront nommés au comité du CSFP de Nouvelle-Zélande, où la sélection finale des boursiers aura lieu. Les résultats seront communiqués au BCEI en novembre 2016. Un avis sera envoyé à tous les candidats présélectionnés en novembre 2016 par Universities New Zealand - Te Pōkai Tara.

Conditions

Toutes les recommandations du Comité canadien de sélection des boursiers et les décisions prises par le Comité du CSFP de la Nouvelle-Zélande sont finales et sans appel.

Le Comité canadien de sélection des boursiers ne peut pas donner de rétroaction aux candidats non choisis.

Les candidatures soumises directement au Haut-commissariat de la Nouvelle-Zélande ne seront pas prises en considération.

Ces bourses sont assujetties à la disponibilité du financement fourni par les universités néo-zélandaises participantes.

Demande en ligne


1Seuls les échantillons expressément requis seront présentés au Comité de sélection. Ils pourront être retournés à l'auteur à la fin du concours; pour cela, il faut inclure l'adresse de l'expéditeur. À noter : malgré toutes les précautions prises, le BCEI ne peut être tenu responsable de la perte d'échantillons ni des dommages éventuels qu'ils pourraient subir.

Contexte

Établi en 1959, le Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) (anglais seulement) a attribué ses premières bourses en 1960. Ce Plan avait été suggéré, en septembre 1958, dans un discours percutant prononcé par Sidney Smith, un ancien recteur de l'Université de Toronto qui occupa plus tard le poste de ministre des Affaires extérieures du Canada. Le but du programme est d'entretenir des liens éducationnels entre les pays du Commonwealth et de fortifier les idéaux sur lesquels le Commonwealth a été fondé. Le programme vise à octroyer des bourses aux personnes de grande promesse intellectuelle dont on pense qu’elles feront une grande contribution à la vie dans leur pays à leur retour de leurs études à l’étranger. Plus de 27 000 citoyens du Commonwealth ont reçu des bourses, certains d'entre eux poursuivant leur élan pour atteindre les plus hautes sphères de leur profession.

En Nouvelle-Zélande, le CSFP est administré par Universities New-Zealand - Te Pōkai Tara.

Le Comité du CSFP de la Nouvelle-Zélande offre annuellement un total de huit bourses au Canada et au Royaume-Uni. Toutes les demandes du Canada et du Royaume-Uni seront évaluées au mérite par le Comité du CSFP de Nouvelle-Zélande.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-06-06