Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Organization of American States (OAS) Professional Development Scholarship Program

Competition: Open for 2016-2017

Deadline: Varies depending on the course selected

Who Applies: Canadian professionals

Description: The OAS Professional Development Scholarship Program offers opportunities for professional development through short-term courses in specialized areas of training. Professional development courses may be carried out on-site, by distance education or in a combination of both. Numerous courses are offered throughout the year. Interested applicants are encouraged to consult the Program regularly to stay informed of courses offered.

Guidelines

The Department of Human Development, Education and Culture (DHDEC) of the General Secretariat of the Organization of American States (OAS) offers professional development scholarships to citizens of OAS Member States. Each year, the OAS publishes a series of courses for which scholarships are available with a detailed description for each course. The description will contain all pertinent information including the content and duration of the course, the institution offering the course, eligibility requirements, application procedures, benefits offered, and the application deadline.

Courses Available

Professional development courses may be carried out on-site, by distance education or in a combination of both. Course descriptions are available on the Organization of American States' Scholarships for Professional Development web page. Note that descriptions are only posted in the language in which the course is delivered.

Scholarship Value and Duration

Professional development scholarships may provide funds for tuition and course fees, international travel, and health insurance. The type of funding will vary according to the type and length of the professional development course. Individual course descriptions specify the funding offered by the institution and/or sponsoring agency.

Eligibility

Applicants must:

  • be citizens or permanent residents of Canada;
  • meet the requirements indicated in the course description; and
  • be proficient in the language in which the course is delivered.

Terms and Conditions

The terms and conditions are as follows:

  • applicants are only eligible for a scholarship for study in an OAS member state other than Canada;
  • a scholarship for study in another country in which the applicant also holds the status of citizen or permanent resident is subject to approval;
  • applicants may be granted a scholarship for a distance education course where the participant remains in Canada for all or most of the duration of the course; and
  • recipients of an OAS Professional Development Scholarship Program in the past 12 months and current scholarship recipients are not eligible to apply.

Deadline

The application form and all required documentation must be received by the National Liaison Office (ONE) at least seven business days before the deadline in the specific course description made on the OAS website. The ONE is the official channel for processing OAS scholarships. The ONE will send the completed application form to the Department of Human Development, Education and Culture (DHDEC) in Washington, DC.

Application Process

Applicants must:

  • fill out the preliminary online application for the Professional Development Scholarships Program available in each OAS course description;
  • upon completion of the online application form, print a hard copy, sign the application form; and
  • submit the signed application form with all required documentation to the National Liaison Office (ONE). Please note that applications can be sent to the ONE via e-mail.

The National Liaison Office (ONE) in Canada is:

Canadian Bureau for International Education
Attn: OAS Professional Development Scholarship Program
220 Laurier Avenue West, Suite 1550
Ottawa, Ontario, K1P 5Z9
Canada

Phone: 613-237-4820

Selection Process

Review Procedures and Conditions

To be considered for the OAS Professional Development Scholarship Program, applications must have the official endorsement of the designated National Liaison Office (ONE) of the OAS Member States in which the applicant is a citizen or permanent resident. Applications submitted directly to the OAS will not be considered.

Notification

Applicants will be contacted directly by the OAS regarding the status of their application. Permanent missions to the OAS, the ONEs and the Offices of the General Secretariat in the countries concerned will also be informed of the names of the scholarship recipients.

Applicants must ensure that a permanent email address is included in their application.

Conditions

All decisions made by the OAS are final and are not open to appeal.

Documents submitted to the ONE will not be returned.

These scholarships are subject to the availability of funding provided by the OAS through the Department of Human Development, Education, and Culture (DHDEC).

Background

The Department of Human Development, Education and Culture (DHDEC) of the Organization of American States (OAS) General Secretariat offers opportunities for professional development through short-term courses in specialized areas of training. Awards are organized through programs of cooperation with OAS Member States, OAS Permanent Observer States, other non-member states, regional and international organizations, public and private agencies, philanthropic and commercial institutions, as well as institutes of higher learning. Scholarships may also be organized in coordination with other areas of the OAS General Secretariat.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-05-02

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Organisation des États Américains (OÉA) : Programme de bourses de développement professionnel

Concours : ouvert pour 2016-2017

Date limite : varie selon le cours choisi

Qui soumet la demande : professionnels canadiens

Description : Le programme de bourses de développement professionnel de l'OÉA offre des possibilités de développement professionnel au moyen de cours de courte durée dans des domaines de formation spécialisée. Les cours de développement professionnel peuvent être entrepris sur place, à distance, ou une combinaison des deux. Plusieurs cours sont offerts tout au long de l'année. Les candidats intéressés sont encouragés à consulter le programme régulièrement afin de demeurer au courant des cours offerts.

Lignes directrices

Le Département du développement humain, de l’éducation et de la culture (DDHEC) du Secrétariat général de l’Organisation des États américains (OÉA) offre des bourses de développement professionnel aux citoyens des États membres de l’OÉA. Chaque année, l’OÉA publie une série de cours pour lesquels des bourses sont offertes ainsi qu’une description détaillée de chacun des cours. La description donne tous les renseignements pertinents, notamment le contenu et la durée de chaque cours, l’établissement qui offre le cours, les critères d’admissibilité, les avantages offerts ainsi que la date limite de soumission des demandes.

Cours offerts

Les cours de développement professionnel peuvent être entrepris sur place, à distance, ou une combinaison des deux. La liste des cours disponibles se trouve sur la page Web Scholarships for Professional Development (anglais et espagnol seulement) de l’OÉA. Veuillez noter que les renseignements ne paraissent que dans la langue d’instruction du cours.

Valeur et durée de la bourse

Les Bourses de développement professionnel peuvent financer les droits de scolarité et les frais des cours, le déplacement international et l'assurance maladie. Ces fonds varient selon le type et la durée du cours de développement professionnel. Chaque description de cours précise les fonds offerts par l'établissement et/ou l'organisme parrain.

Admissibilité

Les candidats doivent :

  • être citoyens ou résidents permanents du Canada;
  • répondre aux exigences indiquées dans la description du cours;
  • maîtriser la langue d'enseignement du cours.

Modalités

Les modalités sont les suivantes :

  • les candidats sont seulement admissibles à une bourse pour étudier dans un État membre de l’OÉA autre que le Canada;
  • une bourse d’études dans un pays où le candidat détient aussi la citoyenneté ou la résidence permanente est sujette à une approbation;
  • les récipiendaires peuvent recevoir une bourse de formation à distance durant laquelle le participant reste au Canada pour toute la durée ou pour la majorité du cours;
  • les candidats ayant reçu une Bourse de développement professionnel de l’OÉA au cours des 12 derniers mois et les récipiendaires actuels de bourses d'études de l’OÉA ne sont pas admissibles.

Échéance

Le formulaire de demande et toute la documentation requise doivent être reçus par le National Liaison Office (ONE) au moins sept jours ouvrables avant la date limite indiquée par l’OÉA dans la description du programme d’étude ou du cours. Le ONE est le bureau officiel responsable du traitement des bourses de l’OÉA. Le ONE fera parvenir les demandes complètes au Département du développement humain, de l’éducation et de la culture (DDHEC) à Washington, DC.

Présentation des candidatures

Les candidats doivent :

  • remplir le formulaire de demande en ligne pour le Professional Development Scholarships Program (anglais et espagnol seulement) qui se trouve dans chaque description de cours de l’OÉA;
  • après avoir soumis la demande en ligne de l’OÉA, les candidats doivent en imprimer une copie, signer le formulaire de demande;
  • soumettre le formulaire de demande de l’OÉA signé avec tous les documents requis au National Liaison Office (ONE) par la poste ou par courrier électronique.

Le National Liaison Office (ONE) du Canada est le :

Bureau canadien de l'éducation internationale (BCEI)
Attn : Programme de bourses de développement professionnel de l’OÉA
220 avenue Laurier Ouest, Bureau 1550
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5Z9
Canada

Téléphone : 613-237-4820
Courriel : admin-scholarships-bourses@cbie.ca

Pour la documentation envoyée par la poste, il est fortement recommandé de réunir le formulaire de demande et tous les documents d'appui dans une enveloppe scellée et de la faire parvenir au ONE, en utilisant une méthode permettant de confirmer la livraison, tel qu'un service de messagerie ou par courrier recommandé.

Le ONE accusera réception des documents par courriel.

Processus de sélection

Procédure d’études des candidatures et conditions

Afin d’être prise en considération pour la Bourse de développement professionnel de l’OÉA toute demande doit recevoir l'appui officiel du National Liaison Office (ONE) de l’État membre de l’OÉA dont le candidat est citoyen ou résident permanent. Les demandes soumises directement à l’OÉA ne seront pas considérées.

Notification

L’OÉA fera parvenir les résultats directement aux candidats. Les Missions permanentes auprès de l’OÉA, les National Liaison Office (ONE) et les Bureaux du Secrétariat général des pays concernés recevront aussi les noms des boursiers.

Les candidats doivent s’assurer d’inclure une adresse courriel permanente dans leur demande.

Conditions

Toutes décisions prises par l’OÉA sont finales et sans appel.

Les formulaires de candidature et les documents soumis au ONE ne seront pas retournés.

Ces bourses sont sujettes à la disponibilité du financement fourni par l’OÉA par l’intermédiaire du Département du développement humain, de l’éducation et de la culture (DDHEC).

Contexte

Le Département du développement humain, de l’éducation et de la culture (DDHEC) du Secrétariat général de l’Organisation des États américains (OÉA) offre des bourses de développement professionnel au moyen de cours de courte durée dans des domaines de formation spécialisée. Ces bourses sont organisées dans le cadre de programmes de coopération avec des États membres de l’OÉA, des États observateurs de l’OÉA, d'autres États non membres, des organisations régionales ou internationales, des organismes publics ou privés, des organisations commerciales ou philanthropiques et des établissements d'enseignement supérieur. Les bourses peuvent aussi être organisées en coordination avec d’autres secteurs du Secrétariat général de l’OÉA.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-12-06