Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Ailín Benítez Cortés from Chile

Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2015)

Bishop's University (Sociology, BA)

Ailín Benítez Cortés

I am not sure that there are enough words to truly describe how amazing my Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) experience at Bishop’s University was. But I will do my best and begin by saying that the university was a dream place to study and to live. The professors were incredible. I was able to learn a lot from them and to deepen my knowledge of Sociology and International Studies. I was impressed with the university’s buildings and always felt safe and calm on campus.

It is also important to mention that the study exchange transformed the way I understand things. I met people from all over the world and learned about their cultures and countries, which allowed me to respect them and to understand that sometimes we may think that people are completely different from us, but they are actually not. I lived with three Canadian students and felt that we were like a family, always taking care of each other. I witnessed a similar kindness in other Canadian friends. They were always respectful and cordial and welcomed me in their home country.

The experience at Bishop’s University was remarkable. In my opinion, Canada is a great country because everything works the way it is intended to and I believe that future generations will only make it better. I am extremely grateful for the ELAP scholarship.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-11-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Ailín Benítez Cortés du Chili

Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2015)

Université Bishop's (sociologie, B.A.)

Ailín Benítez Cortés

Je ne sais pas s’il y a assez de mots pour décrire à quel point mon expérience du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) à l’Université Bishop’s a été extraordinaire, mais je ferai de mon mieux. Je commencerai par dire que l’université était un endroit de rêve où vivre et faire des études. Les professeurs étaient incroyables. J’ai beaucoup appris d’eux et enrichi mes connaissances de la sociologie et des études internationales. J’ai été impressionnée par les édifices de l’université et me suis toujours sentie en sécurité et calme sur le campus.

Je me dois aussi de mentionner que l’échange d’études a transformé la façon dont je vois les choses. J’ai rencontré des gens du monde entier et beaucoup appris sur leur culture et leur pays, ce qui m’a permis de les respecter et de comprendre que parfois, il se peut que nous pensions que les gens sont différents de nous, mais en fait, ce n’est pas vrai. J’ai vécu avec trois étudiants canadiens et les considérais comme ma famille, nous prenions tous soin les uns des autres. J’ai été témoin de cette même gentillesse d’autres amis canadiens. Ils étaient toujours respectueux et cordiaux, et m’ont accueillie chaleureusement dans leur pays.

Mon expérience à l’Université Bishop’s a été remarquable. Pour moi, le Canada est un grand pays, parce que tout fonctionne comme voulu, et je crois fermement que les générations futures ne feront que l’améliorer. Je suis extrêmement reconnaissante à la bourse du PFLA.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-11-07