Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Alma Quintero

Education Outreach Officer, Embassy of Canada in Mexico and Director, Public Affairs, Canada Alumni Network in Mexico (CANIM)
Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2011)

Trent University (International Development Studies, BA)

Being part of the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program not only gave me the opportunity to study in Canada but also opened my eyes to new horizons and career possibilities. As a student in International Development Studies, I had the chance to learn from recognized faculty members as well as from my classmates, who came from many different countries. This made the classroom the perfect forum to discuss international issues from diverse perspectives and first-hand experiences.

Although it was my first time living abroad, I felt welcomed and safe from my very first minute in Canada. I always felt part of the multicultural and friendly Canadian society. It was easy to get used to a new lifestyle and make friends to explore Canadian landscapes with.

Back in my home country, I feel more prepared and competitive for the labour market thanks to my improved English skills and international experience highly valued by employers. Furthermore, I have the chance to be part of the Canada Alumni Network in Mexico to share my experience with other alumni and to help new students who want to have the experience of studying in Canada.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-05-25

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Alma Quintero

Agente d’éducation, Diffusion externe, Ambassade du Canada au Mexique et Directrice, Affaires publiques, Canada Alumni Network in Mexico (CANIM)
Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2011)

Université Trent (développement international, B.A.)

Faire partie du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques m’a donné l’opportunité de faire des études au Canada, mais cela m’a aussi ouvert les yeux à d’autres horizons et possibilités de carrière. Étudiante en développement international, j’ai eu la chance d’apprendre de professeurs connus ainsi que de mes camarades de classe, qui venaient de nombreux différents pays. Cela a fait de la salle de classe l’endroit idéal où discuter des enjeux internationaux de plusieurs points de vue et avec des expériences directes.

C’était la première fois que je vivais à l’étranger, et je me suis sentie accueillie et en sécurité dès que j’ai posé les pieds au Canada. J’ai toujours eu l’impression de faire partie de la société multiculturelle et chaleureuse du Canada. Je n’ai eu aucune difficulté à m’habituer à un nouveau style de vie et me faire des amis avec qui découvrir les paysages canadiens.

Maintenant que je suis revenue dans mon pays, je me sens plus prête et compétitive pour le marché du travail grâce à mon anglais, que j’ai amélioré, et à l’expérience internationale que les employeurs recherchent tant. De plus, j’ai la chance de faire partie du Canada Alumni Network in Mexico (réseau des anciens boursiers du Canada au Mexique) pour parler de mon expérience à d’autres anciens boursiers et aider les nouveaux étudiants qui veulent avoir l’expérience d’études au Canada.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-05-26