Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Catherine Tatarniuk

Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – New Zealand Awardee (2011-2014)

University of Canterbury (Geotechnical Engineering, PhD)

I was residing in Christchurch, New Zealand during the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes, and as a graduate student, I had the opportunity to form part of a research team investigating infrastructure after the earthquakes. As a geotechnical engineer, this first-hand experience was priceless, and has helped fortify my knowledge in this area and shape my career.

My four years at the University of Canterbury (UC) in Christchurch were a life-changing experience, made possible through the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP). I was grateful to receive the scholarship for three academic years. I first received the scholarship in 2011-2012 and it was then renewed in both 2012-2013 and 2013-2014.

I chose UC because of the opportunity to complete a unique research project under the supervision of world-class academics. My research involved studying landslides in clay soil, and how they can be stabilised using Deep Soil Mixing (DSM), a technology that involves adding cement to soil in columns. I was drawn to this project because of the access to specialized field and laboratory equipment which were essential components for my research. My research challenged my abilities in several different facets of geotechnical engineering, and it has made me a more capable and confident geotechnical engineer.

At UC, I also gained valuable experience as a lecturer and teaching assistant, and an understanding of the geotechnical engineering curriculum in another country.

I made countless valuable professional connections and friendships during my studies, all the while having the opportunity to experience a beautiful and amazing country. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to complete a doctorate in New Zealand through the CSFP!

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-06-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Catherine Tatarniuk

Boursière du Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – Nouvelle-Zélande (2011-2014)

University of Canterbury (génie géotechnique, Ph. D.)

J’habitais à Christchurch, en Nouvelle-Zélande quand les séismes de 2010 et 2011 ont frappé, et, en tant qu’étudiante au cycle supérieur, j’ai eu l’occasion de faire partie d’une équipe de recherche enquêtant sur les infrastructures après les séismes. Cette expérience directe et inestimable m’a aidée à renforcer mes connaissances en génie géotechnique et a donné forme à ma carrière.

Les quatre années que j’ai passées à la University of Canterbury (UC) de Christchurch ont été transformatrices et ce, grâce au Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP). J’ai eu la chance de recevoir la bourse d’études pendant trois années universitaires. J’ai d’abord reçu la bourse en 2011-2012, puis elle fut renouvelée en 2012-2013 et 2013-2014.

J’ai choisi l’ UC en raison de la possibilité de faire un projet de recherche tout à fait particulier sous la supervision de chercheurs connus. Mes recherches portaient sur les glissements de terrain en sol argileux et la façon de les stabiliser en ayant recours à la technique Deep Soil Mixing (DSM) qui consiste à ajouter du ciment au sol par colonne. Ce projet m’a attirée parce que l’accès à l’équipement de terrain et de laboratoire spécialisé était une composante essentielle de mes recherches. Mes recherches ont testé mes capacités dans différentes facettes du génie géotechnique et m’ont permis de devenir une ingénieure géotechnique plus capable et sûre d’elle-même.

À l’UC, j’ai aussi acquis de l’expérience très utile de chargée de cours et assistante d’enseignement, et j’ai pu comprendre le cursus de génie géotechnique d’un autre pays.

J’ai établi de nombreux contacts professionnels et me suis fait beaucoup d’amis pendant mes études, tout en ayant l’occasion de faire l’expérience d’un merveilleux pays. Je suis très reconnaissante d’avoir pu faire mon doctorat en Nouvelle-Zélande grâce au CSFP!

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-06-03