Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Gary Ng from Canada

Foreign Government Awards Program - Korea Awardee (2014-2017)

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (Industrial Design, Master’s Degree)

Gary Ng

The Foreign Government Awards Program - Korea is an amazing opportunity for anyone wanting to study and live in South Korea. All my life I wanted to learn a new language and to experience living abroad. Through the Foreign Government Awards Program - Korea, that became a reality as it provides support for both language training and graduate studies.

Since the Korean government requires that scholarship students have at least an intermediate proficiency level of the Korean language before starting their graduate studies, I spent a year learning Korean at a language institute, under the program. Despite not knowing any Korean beforehand, I am now proud to say that I can actually speak Korean at a reasonable level. The language institute also gathered scholarship students from all around the world, which was amazing because there were approximately 80 students coming from 60 different countries. Before I went to Korea, I expected that I would be learning mostly about Korean culture. However, since I was placed in such a multicultural environment, I learned not just only about Korea, but about the world as well.

After my language studies, I started my Master’s studies at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), which is one of the world’s leading technical institutes. I am currently studying in the Industrial Design program with a research focus on the usability and user experience of augmented reality applications. The education system is different from the Canadian system, but I think that having another perspective is good as it challenges your own beliefs and gives you a more unique experience than if you just continued to study at home. Since my field is a bit more on the creative side, having new experiences and perspectives is vital to idea generation and problem solving.

Overall, living in South Korea has been one of the most interesting and developmental periods of my life. I have made many great memories and have learned so many things. My studies as a Foreign Government Awards Program - Korea scholar have been incredibly valuable and I am extremely glad that I got this opportunity.

Related content

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-02-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Gary Ng du Canada

Boursier des Bourses des gouvernements étrangers - Corée (2014-2017)

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (design industriel, maîtrise)

Gary Ng

Le programme de Bourses des gouvernements étrangers - Corée est une opportunité extraordinaire pour quiconque veut faire des études et vivre en Corée du Sud. Depuis tout petit, je voulais apprendre une langue étrangère et vivre à l’étranger. Grâce au programme de Bourses des gouvernements étrangers - Corée, ce n’est plus un rêve car j’ai obtenu du financement à la fois pour une formation linguistique et des études supérieures.

Le gouvernement de la Corée exige que les boursiers aient au moins un niveau intermédiaire de coréen avant de commencer leurs études supérieures, j’ai donc passé un an à apprendre la langue dans un institut linguistique, dans le cadre du programme. Je ne savais pas parler un mot de coréen avant de commencer, mais je suis maintenant fier de pouvoir dire que je peux parler coréen à un niveau raisonnable. L’institut avait aussi d’autres boursiers de partout dans le monde, ce qui était extraordinaire puisqu’il y avait environ 80 étudiants d’une soixantaine de pays. Avant d’aller en Corée, je pensais que je découvrirais principalement la culture coréenne. Mais puisque j’ai été placé dans un milieu très multiculturel, j’ai découvert la culture coréenne, mais j’ai aussi découvert le monde.

Après mes études de langues, j’ai commencé ma maîtrise au Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), l’un des instituts techniques les plus éminents du monde. Je fais actuellement des études dans le programme de design industriel, et mes recherches portent sur l’utilisabilité et l’expérience utilisateur des applications de réalité augmentée. Le système d’éducation est différent du système canadien, mais je pense qu’il est avantageux d’avoir une autre perspective puisque cela remet en question vos croyances et vous donne une expérience plus singulière que si vous aviez tout simplement poursuivi vos études dans votre pays. Puisque mon domaine a un côté créatif, avoir de nouvelles expériences et perspectives est essentiel à la génération d’idées et à la résolution de problèmes.

Globalement, vivre en Corée du Sud a été l’une des périodes de ma vie les plus intéressantes et l’une des périodes m’ayant fait grandir le plus. Je me suis fait de nombreux souvenirs très mémorables et ai appris beaucoup de choses. Mes études de boursier des gouvernements étrangers – Corée ont été incroyablement utiles et je suis très content d’avoir eu cette opportunité.

Contenu connexe

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-02-22