Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Guillermo Candiz

Foreign Government Awards (FGA) - Mexico (2015-2016)

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (Geography, PhD)

Guillermo Candiz

Thanks to the Foreign Government Awards Program–Mexico, I had the opportunity to complete my fieldwork in Mexico as part of my doctoral studies in geography at Université Laval. During the fieldwork, I was able to interact with colleagues and professors at the Instituto de Investigaciones Sociales at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). This institution is a reference in the field of migrations, which was an asset to my academic training and professional experience, while also enabling me to expand my academic network.

My project aims to compare the migratory paths of Central American migrants to Mexico and Sub-Saharan migrants to Morocco. Over the past few years these two countries have undergone a similar transformation: they became transit and destination countries for irregular migrants from the Sub-Saharan region for Morocco and the Central American region for Mexico. Through this research I would like to understand the role of the societies in transit countries in the evolution of the migrants’ migratory journey. My data collection took place in two stages. The first stage took place between January and June 2015 in Rabat, Morocco. The second stage took place in Mexico between September 2015 and February 2016 in Mexico City, Guadalajara and Veracruz.

Using the scholarship from the Mexican government, I was able to complete this second stage, which was key to my research. The scholarship covered my daily expenses throughout my stay. The Mexican government was very effective and always ready to meet the needs of scholarship recipients.

As part of my research, I interviewed over 30 people in the above-mentioned cities and participated in various events with migrant assistance organizations. These organizations played a key role in my research because they enabled me to interact with Central American migrants.

Although my research spanned different cities, I stayed in Mexico City most of the time. Living in this city was an exciting experience from a human, academic, cultural, gastronomic and historical perspective. I always felt safe when travelling around and I regularly used public transportation because the city has a very effective and well-connected network.

I will always be grateful for this scholarship, without which I would not have had such good conditions to develop this aspect of my research. I strongly encourage Canadian students to discover Mexico via this excellent scholarship program.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-07-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Guillermo Candiz

Bourses des gouvernements étrangers – Mexique (2015-2016)

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (géographie, Ph. D.)

Guillermo Candiz

Grâce au programme de Bourses des gouvernements étrangers-Mexique, j’ai eu la possibilité de compléter mon terrain de recherche au Mexique dans le cadre de mes études de doctorat en géographie à l’Université Laval. Lors du terrain, j’ai eu la chance de côtoyer des collègues et des professeurs à l’Instituto de Investigaciones Sociales de l’Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). Cette institution est une référence dans le domaine de migrations, ce qui a été un atout dans ma formation académique et mon expérience professionnelle, tout en me permettant d’améliorer mon réseau académique.

Mon projet vise à comparer les trajectoires migratoires des Centroaméricains au Mexique et des Subsahariens au Maroc. Depuis quelques années ces deux pays ont suivi une transformation similaire : ils sont devenus des pays de transit et de destination pour les migrants irréguliers en provenance de la région subsaharienne pour le Maroc et de l’Amérique centrale pour le Mexique. Dans cette recherche, je désire comprendre le rôle des sociétés des pays de transit dans l’évolution du projet migratoire des migrants. Ma collecte de données s’est déroulée en deux étapes. La première étape a eu lieu entre le mois de janvier et juin 2015 au Maroc dans la ville de Rabat. La deuxième étape a eu lieu entre septembre 2015 et février 2016 au Mexique dans les villes de Mexico, Guadalajara et Veracruz.

À l’aide de la bourse du gouvernement mexicain, j’ai pu effectuer cette deuxième étape fondamentale aux fins de ma recherche. La bourse a couvert mes dépenses quotidiennes tout au long de mon séjour. Le gouvernement mexicain a été très efficace et toujours à l’écoute des besoins des boursiers.

Dans le cadre de ma recherche, j’ai interviewé plus de 30 personnes dans les villes nommées ci-haut et j’ai participé aux différents événements avec des organisations d’aide aux migrants. Ces organisations ont joué un rôle fondamental dans ma recherche, car elles m’ont permis de rentrer en contact avec les migrants centroaméricains.

Bien que ma recherche se soit déroulée dans différentes villes, la plupart du temps je suis resté à Mexico. Vivre dans cette ville a été une expérience stimulante du point de vue humain, académique, culturel, gastronomique et historique. Je me sentais toujours en sécurité lors de mes déplacements et j’ai utilisé couramment le transport en commun, car la ville possède un réseau très efficace et très bien connecté.

Je serai toujours reconnaissant à l’égard de cette bourse, sans laquelle je n’aurais pas eu de si bonnes conditions pour développer cette partie de ma recherche. J’encourage fortement les étudiants canadiens à découvrir le Mexique à l’aide de cet excellent programme de bourse.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-07-21