Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Juan Mauricio Bedoya Soto from Colombia

Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2014)

University of Regina (Water Resources, PhD)

Juan Mauricio Bedoya Soto

Under the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP), I conducted research at the University of Regina’s Prairie Adaptation Research Collaborative (PARC) with professors that demonstrated incredible academic and human qualities. I had first connected with them in 2012, through a project called Vulnerability and Adaptation to Climate Extremes in the Americas (VACEA), which was financed by the Government of Canada, headed by a leading research scientist from the University of Regina and involved scientists from Canada, Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Colombia.

VACEA aimed to deepen the understanding of climate extremes and variability on rural agricultural and indigenous communities, and to engage governments in finding adaptive strategies. I had gathered results for the project in Colombia in the context of my PhD at the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. Thanks to the ELAP scholarship, I was able to interact directly with the main participants of the project in Canada from September 2014 to January 2015. I greatly improved the results that were obtained in the three previous years and was able to adapt them to the general framework of the VACEA. In addition, I had access to a series of tree rings, from the Canadian Prairies and the Rocky Mountains, obtained through PARC’s network in dendrology. Combined with large-scale climate information from these same areas, I worked on finding patterns of climate inter-annual variability.

Thanks to this collaborative work, I am able to keep in touch with the researchers from PARC and to continue researching the topics that we explored during my exchange with the intention of writing an article for a scientific journal. I am open to the possibility of completing postdoctoral studies with professors that supervised my work for one or two years, once I complete my doctoral degree.

In my view, Canada is a country that offers many opportunities. Stability and tranquility are reflected through social equality that I could sense. Furthermore, this stability is supported by the contributions of each citizen, and the awareness that each person has of the general rules and laws, in addition to the important confidence that rests in the government and its actions. Different cultures, beliefs and customs coexist in a country that is free, respectful of the conditions of each individual and peaceful.

I am sincerely grateful to ELAP and felt totally supported during my stay. I did not have to worry about funding and could focus completely on progressing in my doctoral studies. Many of my colleagues from my faculty in Colombia are very interested in the ELAP and will probably apply to future competitions.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-11-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Juan Mauricio Bedoya Soto de la Colombie

Boursier du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2014)

University of Regina (ressources en eau, Ph. D.)

Juan Mauricio Bedoya Soto

Grâce au Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA), j’ai pu faire des recherches au Prairie Adaptation Research Collaborative (PARC) de la University of Regina avec des professeurs qui ont fait preuve de qualités académiques et humaines des plus remarquables. J’avais d’abord établi des liens avec eux en 2012, dans le cadre d’un projet appelé Vulnérabilité et adaptation aux phénomènes climatiques extrêmes dans les Amériques (VACEA), financé par le gouvernement du Canada et dirigé par un scientifique de recherche émérite de la University of Regina. Ce projet faisait intervenir des scientifiques du Canada, de l’Argentine, du Brésil, du Chili et de la Colombie.

VACEA visait à approfondir notre compréhension des phénomènes climatiques extrêmes et de la variabilité du climat sur les communautés autochtones et agricoles rurales en vue d’inciter les gouvernements à trouver des stratégies d’adaptation. J’ai rassemblé des résultats pour le projet en Colombie dans le contexte de mon doctorat à la Universidad Nacional de Colombia. Grâce à la bourse du PFLA, j’ai pu interagir directement avec les principaux participants au projet au Canada de septembre 2014 à janvier 2015. J’ai grandement amélioré les résultats obtenus les trois années précédentes et les ai adaptés au cadre général du VACEA. De plus, j’ai eu accès à une série de cernes d’arbres des Prairies canadiennes et des Rocheuses obtenue grâce au réseau PARC de dendrologie. Je travaillais avec les cernes d’arbres et de l’information climatique à grande échelle des mêmes régions pour trouver des schémas récurrents de variabilité climatique interannuelle.

Grâce à ce travail de collaboration, j’ai pu rester en contact avec les chercheurs du PARC et continuer à faire des recherches sur les sujets que j’ai commencé à explorer pendant mon échange dans l’intention d’écrire un article pour un journal scientifique. Je suis encore ouvert à la possibilité de faire des études postdoctorales avec les professeurs qui ont supervisé mon travail pendant un ou deux ans, après la fin de mon doctorat.

Le Canada est, à mon avis, un pays qui offre beaucoup d’opportunités. La stabilité et la tranquillité se reflètent dans l’égalité sociale dont j’ai pu faire l’expérience. En outre, cette stabilité est soutenue par les contributions de chaque citoyen et la connaissance que chaque personne a des lois et des règles générales, en plus de la confiance importante confiée au gouvernement et à ses actions. Les différentes cultures, croyances et coutumes coexistent dans un pays qui est libre, respectueux des conditions de chaque personne et paisible.

Je suis reconnaissant au PFLA et me suis senti très soutenu pendant mon séjour. Je n’avais pas à me soucier du financement et pouvais me concentrer complètement sur les progrès de mes études doctorales. Plusieurs de mes collègues à l’université en Colombie portent de l’intérêt au PFLA et se présenteront probablement aux prochains concours.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-11-07