Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Lisa Warnecke

Post-Doctoral Research Fellowship Awardee (2010)

University of Winnipeg (postdoctoral research in Ecophysiology)

There are three main reasons which made me decide to work and live in Canada: Research opportunities, scientific networking and the great outdoors. Firstly, I was offered an excellent scientific research opportunity by my host institute. I am interested in the physiological and behavioural strategies that small mammals employ to cope with challenging habitats. My postdoctoral position at the University of Winnipeg enabled me to undertake applied research on an urgent conservation issue.

I am studying the hibernation energetics of bats in relation to a recently discovered disease, the “White-Nose Syndrome”, which is a serious threat to North America’s bat populations and will have wide-ranging effects on biodiversity as well as agricultural pest control.

Secondly, I chose to come to Canada because of my scientific contacts and the great opportunity of expanding my international network of peers. After graduating in Biology in Germany, I travelled to Australia to conduct my PhD research on the ecophysiology of small arid zone marsupials. It was a contact that I made during my time in Australia who offered me the postdoctoral position in Canada. This shows that international collaborations are essential in the scientific community and particularly for young researchers like me it is important to establish a network of contacts. I have found that meeting and working with new colleagues from other countries is an invaluable opportunity for exchanging ideas and concepts. The third reason is the fact that Canada has always attracted me as a country to visit with its beautiful wilderness and wildlife. While providing me with an opportunity to explore vast open spaces and observe fascinating animals that are perfectly adapted to the often harsh conditions, it also offers a high quality of life and excellent research facilities. Furthermore, it offers a safe and friendly atmosphere in which to work and live and I am very much looking forward to the remaining time ahead.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-02-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Lisa Warnecke

Lauréate d’une bourse de recherche postdoctorale (2010)

University of Winnipeg (recherches postdoctorales en écophysiologie)

Il y a trois grandes raisons qui m’ont décidée à travailler et à vivre au Canada : les possibilités de recherche; le réseautage scientifique; et les attraits du plein air. Premièrement, mon institut hôte m’a offert une excellente possibilité de recherche scientifique. Je m’intéresse aux stratégies physiologiques et comportementales que les petits mammifères appliquent pour s’adapter à des environnements difficiles.

Mon poste postdoctoral à l’Université de Winnipeg m’a permis d’entreprendre des recherches appliquées sur un urgent problème de conservation. J’étudie l’énergétique des chauves-souris en relation avec une maladie récemment découverte, le syndrome du museau blanc, une menace sérieuse pesant sur les populations de chauves-souris d’Amérique du Nord qui aura de graves effets sur la biodiversité ainsi que sur la lutte contre les parasites agricoles.

Deuxièmement, j’ai choisi de venir au Canada en raison de mes contacts scientifiques et de l’excellente occasion d’agrandir mon réseau international de pairs. Après avoir obtenu mon diplôme en biologie en Allemagne, je me suis rendue en Australie pour mener mes recherches de doctorat sur l’écophysiologie des petits marsupiaux des zones arides. C’est un contact que je me suis fait pendant mon séjour en Australie qui m’a offert le poste postdoctoral au Canada. Voilà qui montre que les collaborations internationales sont essentielles dans la communauté scientifique. En particulier pour les jeunes chercheurs comme moi, il est important d’établir un réseau de contacts. J’ai constaté que le fait de rencontrer de nouveaux collègues et de travailler avec eux constitue une occasion irremplaçable d’échanger des idées et des concepts. La troisième raison est le fait que le Canada m’a toujours attirée en tant que pays à visiter en raison de la beauté de la nature et de la faune. Tout en me donnant l’occasion d’explorer de grands espaces et d’observer des animaux fascinants, parfaitement adaptés aux conditions parfois rudes, le pays offre aussi une grande qualité de vie et d’excellentes installations de recherche. De plus, il y règne une atmosphère sûre et amicale dans laquelle travailler et vivre, et je vois d’un très bon œil le temps qui me reste au Canada.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-06-22