Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Marie-Frédérique Ouellet from Canada

Commonwealth Scholarship Plan - India Awardee (2014-2016)

University of Hyderabad (Economics, Master’s Degree)

Marie-Frédérique Ouellet

Spending two years in India to pursue a Master’s degree in Economics… is it really possible? The answer is yes, it is totally possible, and it is even the dream of a lifetime! When I completed the Bachelor of International Economics and Development at the University of Ottawa, I was faced with several options: traveling, working or pursuing a Master’s degree. I chose all of them. I was honored to be selected for the Commonwealth Scholarship Plan - India to pursue a Master’s degree in Economics at the University of Hyderabad.

In the Master’s program, there were 60 students, including four international students. All of these individuals helped me understand, analyze and respect the economic and social development of India. It is challenging to explain the impact of this cultural exchange on my life other than by saying I feel like I am starting a brand new life. What I learned academically is only one part of everything I have learned in the past two years. I could also engage with non-governmental organizations, take part in research projects on environmental economics and undertake a research placement about agricultural and financial developments.

The scholarship program made a big difference in my life and in my career. Beyond allowing me to get the title of Economist, I have developed an understanding and a sensitivity to causes related to economic and social development. Now I have the honour of working as an analyst in strategic planning in a Canadian company integrated in its community and determined to reduce the impact of agriculture and horticulture on the environment. I urge you to read the short text I Took the Decision of Offering Myself the Greatest Gift: I went to Study Abroad that I wrote to encourage other young people like you and I to take the leap and study abroad. Give yourselves the opportunity to impress yourselves!

Related Content

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-12-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Marie-Frédérique Ouellet du Canada

Boursière du Programme de bourses du Commonwealth - Inde (2014-2016)

University of Hyderabad (économie, maîtrise)

Marie-Frédérique Ouellet

Partir en Inde pendant deux ans pour faire une maîtrise en économie : est-ce vraiment possible? Oui, c’est plus que possible, c’est même le rêve d’une vie! Après avoir terminé le Baccalauréat en Économie internationale et développement de l’Université d’Ottawa, je faisais face à plusieurs choix : voyager, travailler ou poursuivre à la maîtrise. J’ai décidé de choisir toutes ces options. J’ai eu l’honneur d’être sélectionnée pour le Programme de bourses du Commonwealth - Inde du Canada pour entreprendre une maîtrise en économie à la University of Hyderabad.

Dans le programme de maîtrise, nous étions un groupe de 60 étudiants dont quatre étudiants internationaux. Tous ces individus m’ont aidée à comprendre, analyser et respecter le développement économique et social de l’Inde. Il est difficile d’expliquer l’impact d’un tel échange culturel dans une vie autrement que de dire que j’ai l’impression d’en commencer une nouvelle. L’apprentissage scolaire et académique n’est qu’un volet de ce que j’ai appris durant ces deux dernières années. J’ai aussi pu m’impliquer avec des organisations non gouvernementales, participer à des projets de recherche sur l’économie de l’environnement, et faire un stage de recherche sur le développement agricole et financier.

Ce programme de bourses a fait une grande différence dans ma vie et dans ma carrière. Au-delà de m’avoir permis de porter le titre d’économiste, j’ai développé une compréhension et une sensibilité aux causes touchant le développement économique et social. J’ai maintenant l’honneur de travailler comme analyste à la planification stratégique dans une compagnie canadienne intégrée dans sa communauté et déterminée à réduire l’impact de l’agriculture et de l’horticulture sur l’environnement. Je vous invite à lire un court texte qui s’intitule I Took the Decision of Offering Myself the Greatest Gift: I went to Study Abroad (anglais seulement) que j’ai écrit pour encourager d’autres jeunes comme vous et moi à partir étudier à l’étranger. Laissez-vous la chance de vous impressionner!

Contenu connexe

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-02-22