Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Dr. Miao Song from Canada

Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program Awardee (2011-2012; 2015-2016)

Central Academy of Drama (Chinese Drama, PhD studies during first exchange and Visiting Professor during second exchange)

Miao Song

I have been a fortunate recipient of the Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program (CCSEP) scholarship twice, in 2011 and 2015. These intercultural experience opportunities enabled me to grow exponentially and contribute very positively not only to my personal and professional development but also to establish new links and partnerships between Canada and China at academic and professional levels.

I was affiliated with the Central Academy of Drama (CAD) and Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) in Beijing, China and Concordia University in Montreal, Canada. I helped to establish and strengthen the relationship between the top Drama school and the research Academy in China and Concordia in Montreal. Likewise, I showcased our own research in new media, motion capture, and realtime graphics at a theatre production at CAS, which was shown for the first time to a large audience in China. I also presented a research creation project on Illimitable Space System developed during my doctoral studies at Concordia.

These activities contributed positively to maintaining links between the schools and having ongoing collaborations around the film festival that I established, the Canada China International Film Festival (CCIFF), which already had two successful editions after my second trip to China in 2015. In the end, I was a producer of the first CCSEP short documentary film about CCSEP scholars that was screened at the 2nd CCIFF and we are currently developing a longer version. I continue working with CAS and CAD and Concordia on entertainment technology transfer, Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), and research creation activities. Overall, I am grateful for my experience on the Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program and its positive impacts in my field.

Related content

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-11-29

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Dr Miao Song du Canada

Boursière du Programme d’échanges académiques Canada-Chine (2011-2012; 2015-2016)

Académie centrale d’art dramatique (théâtre chinois, études au doctorat lors de la première visite et professeure invitée lors de la deuxième visite)

Miao Song

J’ai eu la chance d’avoir pu recevoir la bourse du Programme d’échanges académiques Canada-Chine deux fois, en 2011 et 2015. Ces opportunités d’expérience interculturelle m’ont permis de me développer exponentiellement et de contribuer très positivement à ma croissance personnelle et à ma formation professionnelle, tout en établissant de nouveaux liens et partenariats entre le Canada et la Chine à l’échelle académique et professionnelle.

J’étais affiliée à l’Académie centrale d’art dramatique (CAD) et l’Académie chinoise des sciences (CAS) à Beijing, en Chine, et à l’Université Concordia de Montréal, Canada. J’ai contribué à établir et à renforcer la relation entre la meilleure école de théâtre et l’académie de recherches en Chine d’une part et Concordia à Montréal d’autre part. De la même façon, j’ai présenté nos propres recherches dans de nouveaux médias, par capture de mouvement et graphiques en temps réel dans une production théâtrale à la CAS, qui a été visionnée pour la première fois par un grand public en Chine. J’ai aussi présenté un projet de création de recherche sur le Illimitable Space System mis sur pied pendant mes études doctorales à Concordia.

Ces activités ont contribué positivement au maintien des liens entre les écoles et les collaborations durables autour du festival du film que j’ai établi, le Festival international du film Canada Chine, qui a déjà eu deux éditions réussies après mon deuxième séjour en Chine en 2015. J’ai produit le premier documentaire court sur le Programme de bourses d’échanges académiques Canada-Chine et ses boursiers (anglais et chinois) qui a été passé au deuxième Festival et nous en sommes en train de créer une version longue. Je continue à travailler avec la CAS et la CAD ainsi qu’avec Concordia sur le transfert de technologie du spectacle, l’interaction humain-ordinateur et des activités de création de recherches. Globalement, je suis très reconnaissante de mon expérience dans le Programme d’échanges académiques Canada-Chine et de ses répercussions positives dans mon domaine.

Contenu connexe

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-11-29