Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Dr. Nicholas J. Minter

Post-Doctoral Research Fellowship Awardee (2010)

University of Saskatchewan (postdoctoral research on Animal-Sediment Interactions)

I was attracted to do research in Canada by the opportunity to work in another country and to experience a different culture. Canada is home to world-class universities and facilities.

My research interests are in animal-sediment interactions and how animal behaviour has evolved and modified sediments through time and, in turn, how this has driven the evolution of these animals, their behaviour, and the make-up of ecosystems.

This is a very interdisciplinary area of research, drawing upon palaeontology, sedimentology and behavioural ecology. Canada is a hotbed for this area of research, with the vast majority of researchers in the world being found in universities across the country. It is therefore the perfect place to be to facilitate networking and to build collaborations in setting up for the future.

I have found Canada to be a very friendly and safe country and many of the cities have a very international feel. Whether it be a snowy day with blue skies in Saskatoon or a trip to the lakes and mountains of the Rockies, Canada is a truly stunning place to be.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-02-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Nicholas J. Minter, Ph. D.

Lauréat d’une bourse de recherche postdoctorale (2010)

Université d’Ottawa (recherches postdoctorales sur les interactions animaux-sédiments)

J’ai eu le goût de travailler au Canada à cause de la possibilité de travailler dans un autre pays et de faire l’expérience d’une autre culture. Le Canada possède des universités et des installations de calibre mondial.

Mes intérêts de recherche portent sur les interactions entre animaux et sédiments et sur l’évolution du comportement animal et ses effets sur les sédiments au fil du temps.

J’étudie aussi comment ces changements ont influé sur l’évolution des animaux, leur comportement et la constitution des écosystèmes. Ce domaine est fortement interdisciplinaire et fait appel à la paléontologie, à la sédimentologie et à l’écologie comportementale. Le Canada est une serre chaude pour ce domaine de recherche, car on trouve la vaste majorité des experts mondiaux dans les universités du pays. C’est par conséquent l’endroit idéal pour faciliter le réseautage et pour établir des contacts pour des collaborations à venir.

J’ai trouvé le Canada très convivial et sûr, et bon nombre des villes ont un cachet international. Que ce soit lors d’une journée enneigée sous un ciel d’azur à Saskatoon ou d’un voyage dans les lacs et montagnes des Rocheuses, le Canada est vraiment un endroit à couper le souffle.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-02-03