Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Dr. Pawan Singal from Canada

Canada-Brazil Awards - Joint Research Projects Awardee (2013-2016)

Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (Visiting professor in Physiology)

Pawan Singal

I had the opportunity to lead a research project in the field of cardiovascular sciences under the Canada-Brazil Awards - Joint Research Projects. The project involved two sites in Canada: Winnipeg and Thunder Bay and two sites in Brazil: Porto Alegre and Sao Paulo, and included overall more than ten different laboratories. The project funded for two years plus a one year extension had "Oxidative Stress in Heart Health and Disease" as a common focus. Our activities involved student mobility between both countries. Eight Project Members spent between three to twelve months each, in a laboratory in the other’s country, as an exchange student. One of my PhD students conducted in vivo studies in the laboratory in Sao Paulo and the combined data from two laboratories resulted in two major publications. The data was also included in the student’s PhD thesis.

As the Canadian Project Lead, I travelled twice to Brazil to spend time in the laboratory of my counterpart where multiple discussion sessions were held with the Project Members as well as faculty members. There were several visits to Canada by different faculty members from Brazil. During the program, we organized two scientific conferences in each country, for a total of four conferences.

These new and successful international collaborations have now resulted in the organization of an annual "International Symposium on Oxidative Stress and Cardiovascular Diseases". These meetings involve the group of laboratories that participated in the research project as well as other laboratories. The student exchange started in 2013 is still continuing even after the scholarship has ended. I continue to host students from Brazil in my laboratory. The number of joint research publications from these efforts has exceeded ten and six graduate students have completed their graduate program and there are more graduations to come.

The social as well as cultural experiences in each other’s countries have been wonderful and invaluable. The Canada-Brazil Awards - Joint Research Projects program has resulted in lifelong friendships and lasting fruitful collaborations. Thus, the program has been both a great initiative and a success with multiple tangible and intangible benefits.

Related content

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-09-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Dr Pawan Singal du Canada

Boursier du programme de Bourses Canada-Brésil - Projets de recherche conjoints (2013-2016)

Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (professeur invité en physiologie)

Pawan Singal

J’ai eu l’occasion de mener un projet de recherche dans le domaine des sciences cardiovasculaires grâce aux Bourses Canada-Brésil - Projets de recherche conjoints. Le projet faisait intervenir deux lieux au Canada (Winnipeg et Thunder Bay) et deux lieux au Brésil (Porto Alegre et Sao Paulo), et globalement, plus de dix laboratoires. Le projet, financé pour deux ans avec prolongation d’un an, avait pour thème commun « le stress oxydant dans la santé et la maladie cardiaque ». Nos activités comprenaient de la mobilité étudiante entre les deux pays. Huit membres du projet ont passé de trois à douze mois chacun en laboratoire dans le pays de l’autre, comme étudiant en échange. L’un de mes étudiants de thèse a mené des études in vivo en laboratoire à Sao Paulo et les données combinées des deux laboratoires ont été publiées dans deux grandes revues. Les données ont aussi fait partie de la thèse de doctorat de l’étudiant.

En tant que chef du projet canadien, je me suis rendu au Brésil deux fois pour passer du temps dans le laboratoire de mon homologue, où plusieurs séances de discussion ont eu lieu avec les membres du projet ainsi qu’avec des professeurs. Différents professeurs du Brésil ont aussi passé du temps au Canada. Pendant le programme, nous avons organisé deux colloques scientifiques dans chaque pays, pour un total de quatre colloques.

Ces nouvelles et fructueuses collaborations internationales ont entraîné la tenue annuelle d’un « Symposium international sur le stress oxydant et les maladies cardiovasculaires ». Ces rencontres font intervenir un groupe de laboratoires qui ont participé au projet de recherche ainsi que d’autres laboratoires. L’échange étudiant qui a commencé en 2013 se poursuit, même après la fin de la bourse. Je continue à accueillir des étudiants du Brésil dans mon laboratoire. Le nombre de publications de recherche conjointes venant de ces efforts a dépassé la dizaine, et six étudiants aux cycles supérieurs ont terminé leur programme. Nous nous attendons à voir encore plus de diplômes.

L’expérience sociale et culturelle dans le pays de l’autre a été merveilleuse et très utile. Les Bourses Canada-Brésil - Projets de recherche conjoints ont entraîné des amitiés d’une vie et des collaborations fructueuses durables. Le programme est à la fois une grande initiative et une réussite avec plusieurs bienfaits tangibles et intangibles.

Contenu connexe

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-09-26