Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Phylicia Ricketts from Jamaica

Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarships Program Awardee (2015)

McGill University (Applied Physics, PhD)

Phylicia Ricketts

I attended McGill University as a Graduate Research Trainee, under the Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarships Program. The training provided me with hands-on experience in using new technologies and equipment. I gained insights and innovative perspectives on many different research topics in Environmental Health and Nutrition. I achieved my ultimate goal, which was to collaborate with prestigious researchers to produce a publication in a scientific journal.

At McGill University, I conducted a research project on the assessment of fish consumption and mercury exposure among pregnant women in the Caribbean. The Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarships Program opportunity has tremendously enhanced my academic and professional network. I was swiftly connected to experts who have assisted me in developing my academic career.

I would encourage anyone to study in Canada. Montreal is a wonderful city to experience French-Canadian culture. Also, interestingly, each graduate student from the research laboratory represented a different country! The diversity in culture is definitely a life-changing experience.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-11-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Phylicia Ricketts de la Jamaïque

Boursière du Programme de bourses (leadership) Canada-CARICOM (2015)

Université McGill (physique appliquée, Ph. D.)

Phylicia Ricketts

Je suis allée à l’Université McGill comme stagiaire de recherche aux cycles supérieurs, dans le cadre du Programme de bourses (leadership) Canada-CARICOM. Cette formation m’a donné de l’expérience pratique de l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies et d’équipement. J’ai pu mieux comprendre et voir d’une toute nouvelle façon différents sujets de recherche en santé environnementale et nutrition. J’ai atteint mon objectif ultime : collaborer avec des chercheurs prestigieux pour produire une publication dans une revue scientifique.

À l’Université McGill, j’ai fait un projet de recherche sur l’évaluation de la consommation de poisson et l’exposition au mercure des femmes enceintes dans les Caraïbes. Le Programme de bourses (leadership) Canada-CARICOM a énormément amélioré mon réseau universitaire et professionnel. J’ai été rapidement mise en contact avec des experts qui m’ont aidée à développer ma carrière académique.

J’encourage tout le monde à faire des études au Canada. Montréal est une ville merveilleuse où l’on peut découvrir la culture canadienne-française. Il était aussi intéressant de voir que tous les étudiants du laboratoire de recherche représentaient un pays différent! La diversité de culture est véritablement une expérience transformatrice.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-11-03