Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Richard Beal

Government of Canada Post-Doctoral Research Fellowship Awardee (2010)

University of Ottawa (postdoctoral research in Solar Engineering)

I was delighted to be awarded a Government of Canada Post Doctoral Research Fellowship and to be given the opportunity to pursue post-doctoral studies in Canada. As a result of the award, I took up a position at the University of Ottawa SUNLab where I researched the terrestrial and space based applications of high efficiency solar cells.

The group’s strong focus on industry collaboration helped me get involved in a number of projects, including the development of next generation solar cells, the installation of a 10 kW photovoltaic test-bed, and the design of solar power subsystems for the Canadian Space Agency’s lunar rover program.

I found the University of Ottawa, especially the Faculty of Engineering, to be a wonderful institution at which to pursue my research. The resources and expertise available are top-class; there are numerous opportunities for professional development. The administration is friendly and efficient and my supervisor has given me every opportunity to advance my career.

In addition, living in Canada is a great cultural experience. Much like New Zealanders, Canadians love the great outdoors and Ottawa is a very active city. Its continental climate means that in winter it is a superb place to embrace classic Canadian pastimes like ice-skating, cross country skiing, snow-shoeing and, of course, ice hockey. While in the summer, the weather is warm and sunny. The opportunity to learn and talk French on a daily basis has also enriched my experience here.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time as a post-doc in Canada. I learned a lot, worked on exciting projects with dynamic scientists and enjoyed the Canadian way of life!

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-02-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Richard Beal

Lauréat d’une bourse de recherche postdoctorale du gouvernement du Canada (2010)

Université d’Ottawa (recherches postdoctorales en génie solaire)

J’ai été ravi de recevoir une bourse de recherche postdoctorale du gouvernement du Canada et d’avoir la possibilité de poursuivre des études postdoctorales au Canada. Grâce à cette bourse, j’ai accepté un poste au SUNLab de l’Université d’Ottawa, où j’ai fait des recherches sur les applications des cellules solaires à haute efficacité en milieu terrestre et spatial.

Le groupe est fortement axé sur la collaboration avec l’industrie, ce qui m’a aidé à participer à un certain nombre de projets, y compris le développement de la prochaine génération de cellules solaires, l’installation d’un banc d’essai photovoltaïque de 10 kW et la conception de sous-systèmes à l’énergie solaire de l’automobile lunaire pliable de l’Agence spatiale canadienne.

J’ai trouvé que l’Université d’Ottawa, en particulier la faculté de génie, est un excellent établissement où poursuivre mes recherches. On y trouve des ressources et des connaissances spécialisées de haut niveau, ainsi que de nombreuses possibilités de perfectionnement professionnel. Les administrateurs sont sympathiques et mon directeur de recherche m’a donné toutes les chances de faire avancer ma carrière.

De plus, la vie au Canada est une expérience culturelle des plus plaisantes. Les Canadiens partagent avec les Néo-Zélandais l’amour du plein air et Ottawa est une ville qui fourmille d’activité. Son climat continental signifie qu’en hiver, c’est l’endroit rêvé pour essayer des passe-temps canadiens classiques comme le patin à glace, le ski de fond, la raquette et, bien sûr, le hockey sur glace. En été, le temps est chaud et ensoleillé. La possibilité d’apprendre le français et de le parler tous les jours a également enrichi mon expérience ici.

Globalement, j’ai bien aimé mon séjour d’études postdoctorales au Canada. J’ai beaucoup appris, j’ai travaillé à des projets intéressants avec des scientifiques dynamiques, et j’ai apprécié le mode de vie canadien!

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-02-03