Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonial: Zenon Czenze

Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) - New Zealand Awardee (2014-2016)

University of Auckland (Biology, PhD)

The depth and quality of my research is directly linked to the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP). Being a full-time student in New Zealand affords me the opportunity to examine seasonal changes in native species. I study populations of New Zealand lesser short-tailed bats across the country from subtropical and temperate climates to examine differences in diet and energy use.

Being a recipient of the CSFP - New Zealand has enabled me to pursue my passion for biological science. The CSFP has allowed me to immerse myself in New Zealand culture which would have been impossible as a part-time student. The connections I made within academic and government departments have led to high quality collaborative research on native species.

My relationship with the Department of Conservation (DoC) blossomed after living in a small village of six houses, outside of a national park, for seven months. Working everyday with DoC rangers enhanced, not only, my research but the concurrent conservation work being done by DoC. This relationship has manifested itself in access to otherwise protected ecosystems, collaborative projects, and a network of colleagues across the country.

Being based out of the University of Auckland has also enhanced my experience outside of fieldwork. Being part of the academic community in New Zealand has provided me the opportunity engage in discussions with academics, and share my previous research in Canada to a broader audience. Not to mention the friends I made in my department and my access to state of the art equipment in the School of Biological Sciences.

The CSFP has provided me with a platform to continue my academic career. The skills I learned in New Zealand will be invaluable when I am applying for post-doctoral fellowships. By studying outside of Canada I have become more self-reliant, which will be essential moving forward and critical to my continuing success as an academic. 

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-06-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignage : Zenon Czenze

Boursier du Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – Nouvelle-Zélande (2014-2016)

University of Auckland (biologie, Ph. D.)

L’amplitude et la qualité de mes travaux de recherche sont directement liées au Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP). Le fait d’être étudiant à temps plein en Nouvelle-Zélande me donne l’occasion d’étudier les changements saisonniers des espèces indigènes. J’étudie les populations de petite chauve-souris à queue courte du pays dans les climats subtropicaux et tempérés pour analyser les différences de régime alimentaire et de consommation énergétique.

Recevoir la bourse du CSFP – Nouvelle-Zélande m’a permis d’approfondir ma passion pour les sciences biologiques. Le CSFP m’a permis de me plonger dans la culture néo-zélandaise, ce qui n’aurait pas été possible si j’avais été étudiant à temps partiel. Les contacts que je me suis fait, dans les départements universitaires et gouvernementaux, m’ont mené à des travaux de recherche de collaboration de très haute qualité sur les espèces indigènes.

Mes relations avec le Department of Conservation (DoC) se sont épanouies après avoir vécu dans un petit village de six maisons, à l’extérieur d’un parc national, pendant sept mois. Le fait de travailler tous les jours avec les rangers du DoC a amélioré mes recherches, mais aussi le travail de préservation fait par le DoC. Ces relations se sont manifestées par l’accès à des écosystèmes autrement protégés, des projets de collaboration et un réseau de collègues dans le pays.

Le fait d’être basé à la University of Auckland a aussi amélioré mon expérience en dehors du travail sur le terrain. Faire partie de la communauté académique de Nouvelle-Zélande m’a donné l’occasion d’intervenir dans des discussions avec des chercheurs et de faire part de mes précédents travaux de recherche au Canada à un public plus vaste. Et je ne mentionnerai même pas les amis que je me suis fait dans mon département ni l’accès que j’ai eu à l’équipement de pointe de l’école de sciences biologiques.

Le CSFP m’a donné la plate-forme dont j’avais besoin pour faire progresser ma carrière académique. Les compétences que j’ai acquises en Nouvelle-Zélande me seront très utiles au moment de demander des bourses postdoctorales. En étudiant hors du Canada, j’ai appris à être plus indépendant, ce qui est essentiel pour l’avenir et vital pour poursuivre mes réussites à titre de chercheur.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-06-03