Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Video transcript: Scholarships to study in Canada: Testimonials from international students and researchers

Watch the video

♪ Uplifting Caribbean music, drums and guitar ♪

Ana Rocio Jouli, ELAP participant, PhD, Literature, McGill University: You see the benefits and you think “Okay, this is too good”. Just the name, you know “Emerging Leaders of the Americas”. When my friend sent me the link to this scholarship, I thought, “But I’m not an emerging leader”. I mean, I might be kind of good at what I do, but “emerging leader”, that’s a lot.

Luis Andres Gonzalez, ELAP participant, Master's, Agricultural Science, University of British Columbia: Being an emerging leader, it means there is some potential, some capacity of doing things that have never been done before.

Queliane Gomes da Silva Carvalho ELAP participant, PhD, Nursing, University of British Columbia: We always think “I am doing this for my patients, I am doing this for my university, for my students”, and when you think that you can be an emerging leader, you think “Yeah, I can do this for my country”.

Carlos Magno Neves, ELAP participant, PhD, Health Sciences, University of British Columbia: I applied to ELAP with hope; hope to be here and suddenly, that hope became real. It’s amazing to be here.

Viviane Cabral Bengezen, ELAP participant, PhD, Language Studies and Linguistics, University of Saskatchewan: The Emerging Leaders of the America Program is such an amazing initiative of the Government of Canada to open a great opportunity for us.

Guillermo Armando Corona Herrera, ELAP Participant, PhD, Geological and Biomedical Sciences, Memorial University of Newfoundland: The ELAP is really a great opportunity for all Latin American and Caribbean. This program offers us all the facilities to stay here, to do our research in the top level.

Gabriela Ulmo Diaz ELAP participant, PhD, Conservation Genetics, Université Laval: And the people there actually want to help me to learn.

Ana Rocio Jouli: They're not just focusing on getting people employment, they're focusing on not having immigrants isolated, but to make them feel like they really have a community.

Gonzalo Matias Ronda: It’s a great experience for personal growth, for academic growth, for professional growth. In general, I would say “Go for it”!

 ♪ Uplifting music ♪

Gonzalo Matias Ronda: Some people in the ELAP program get the chance to go to Ottawa for a week, and it’s, I would say like, that would be, as we say in Argentina “La frutilla del postre”: La crème de la crème.

Carlos Magno Neves: I have been in the Parliament. I saw them discussing topics; I saw them face to face. If I’m a Canadian with the right to vote, I could choose my next Minister there. I could say “No, I don’t support this guy anymore”, or I could say “Yeah, that’s the idea I want to follow. That’s the idea which is going to make my country better”.

Ana Rocio Jouli: It’s very inspiring getting to know the social policies, the models for immigration, for reconciliation with aboriginal communities.

Luis Andres Gonzalez: I had the chance to meet amazing people, and meeting some aspects of Canadian culture, that has been an amazing experience.

Javier Porro Suardíaz: This study tour moved me to see the possibility of maybe I can become a Leader.

Gonzalo Matias Ronda: I am very grateful of what this country is doing for my Ph.D. project. I mean, there are few labs this specialized, I would say. So it’s a huge opportunity.

Carlos Magno Neves: Since I arrived here, I have no tag; I am one more inside the multicultural environment which Canada provides.

Daniel Holanda Noronha ELAP participant, Master's, Engineering, University of British Columbia:  You don’t feel like an alien, you really feel like a student because the first day you come to school, you’re already part of it. This is definitely something very different from my other exchanges, where I was the Brazilian guy, I was the different guy, and here, I’m part of society and that makes me feel very comfortable how Canadians really welcome people from all over the world here.

Mariana da Rosa Martins, ELAP participant, Master's Health Sciences, University of Saskatchewan: Here in Canada, you have a very strong network with a different perspective.

Carlos Magno Neves: And now, I have a kind of idea of what it means to be in Canada. The rights, a little bit the way of thinking; it’s really a huge opportunity for us.

Javier Porro Suardíaz: Wonderful and cold and warm at the same time.

[Photo of a participant outside, arms wide open, watching the snow fall]

Contact your home institution to find out more about the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP)

♪ Uplifting music ♪

[Logos displayed: EduCanada and Government of Canada]

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-04-19

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Transcription de la vidéo : Bourses pour étudier au Canada – Témoignages d’étudiants et chercheurs internationaux

Visionner la vidéo

♪ Musique des Caraïbe, tam-tam et guitare  ♪

Anna Rocio Jouli, participante au PFLA, PhD, Littérature, Université McGill : Vous voyez les bénéfices et vous vous dites : d'accord, c’est trop beau pour être vrai. Juste le nom, les futurs leaders dans les Amériques…Quand on m’a envoyé le lien pour cette bourse, je me suis dit, mais je ne suis pas un futur leader. Je suis peut-être douée dans mon domaine, mais futur leader, c’est beaucoup.

Luis Andres Gonzalez, participant au PFLA, Maîtrise, Agricultural Science, University of British Columbia : Être un futur leader signifie qu’il y a du potentiel, de la capacité de faire certaines choses qui n’ont jamais été faites auparavant.

Queliane Gomes da Silva Carvalho, participante au PFLA, PhD, Nursing, University of British Columbia : Nous pensons, je fais ça pour mes patients… je fais ça pour mon université… pour mes étudiants. Et quand tu crois que tu pourrais être un futur leader, tu dis : « Oui! Je peux faire ça pour mon pays! »

Carlos Magno Neves, participant au PFLA, PhD, Health Sciences, University of British Columbia : J’ai appliqué au PFLA avec espoir; espoir d’être ici. Et soudainement, cet espoir est devenu une réalité. C’est incroyable être ici!

Viviane Cabral Bengezen, participante au PFLA, PhD, Language Studies and Linguistics, University of Saskatchewan : Le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques est une initiative du Gouvernement du Canada tellement incroyable de pouvoir offrir cette opportunité pour nous. 

Guillermo Armando Corona Herrera, participant au PFLA, PhD, Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Memorial University of Newfoundland : le PFLA est vraiment une belle opportunité pour les gens d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes. Ce programme nous offre tous les services pour demeurer ici, pour faire de la recherche à un niveau supérieur.

Gabriela Ulmo Diaz, participante au PFLA, PhD, Génétique et conservation, Université Laval : Et les gens ici, ils veulent vraiment nous aider à apprendre.

Anna Rocio Jouli : Ils ne se concentrent pas à donner des emplois aux gens, mais plutôt à s’assurer que les immigrants ne soient pas isolés, de leur montrer qu’ils ont une communauté.

Gonzalo Matias Ronda, participant au PFLA, PhD, Earth Geological Sciences, Dalhousie University : C’est une belle expérience pour le développement personnel, pour le développement académique, pour le développement professionnel. En général, je dirais « Foncez! ».

Gonzalo Matias Ronda : Certaines personnes du PFLA ont la chance d’aller à Ottawa pour une semaine et ceci, je dirais, est tel que nous l’appelons en Argentin « La frutilla del postre » : La crème de la crème.

Carlos Magno Neves : J’ai visité le Parlement. Je les ai vus discuter de plusieurs sujets; je les ai vu face à face. Si je suis Canadien avec un droit de vote, je pourrais choisir mon prochain Ministre, je pourrais dire: « Non, je ne supporte pas cet homme » ou je pourrais dire: « Oui, c’est cette idée que je veux suivre. C’est cette idée qui va aider mon pays ».

Anna Rocio Jouli : C’est très inspirant de voir les politiques sociales, les modèles d’immigration et de réconciliation avec les communautés autochtones.

Luis Andres Gonzalez : J’ai eu la chance de rencontrer des gens incroyables et de rencontrer certains aspects de la culture canadienne. Ce fut une belle expérience.

Javier Porro Suardíaz, participant au PFLA, Maîtrise, Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Concordia University : Ce voyage d’études m’a permis de voir les possibilités de peut-être devenir un futur leader.

Gonzalo Matias Ronda : Je suis très reconnaissant de ce que ce pays fait pour mon projet de doctorat. Il y a beaucoup de laboratoires ici qui sont spécialisés. Je dirais que c’est une grande opportunité.

Carlos Magno Neves : Depuis que je suis arrivé ici, je n’ai aucune étiquette; je suis un de plus dans cet environnement multiculturel que le Canada nous fournit.

Daniel Holanda Noronha, participant au PFLA, Maîtrise, Engineering, University of British Columbia : Tu ne te sens pas comme un extraterrestre, tu te sens comme un étudiant, parce que dès la première journée tu arrives à l’école, tu y fais partie. Ceci est définitivement quelque chose de très différent des autres échanges que j’ai faits, où j’étais l’homme brésilien, j’étais l’homme différent, et ici, je fais partie de la société. Ça me rend à l’aise de voir comment les Canadiens accueillent les gens venant de partout à travers la planète.

Mariana da Rosa Martins, participante au PFLA, Maîtrise, Health Sciences, University of Saskatchewan : Ici au Canada, vous avez un réseautage très solide avec différentes perspectives.

Carlos Magno Neves : Et maintenant, j’ai une idée de ce que c’est d’être au Canada. Les droits, la façon de penser; c’est une énorme opportunité pour nous.

Javier Porro Suardíaz : Merveilleux, froid et chaud tout en même temps.

[Photo d’un participant dehors, bras ouverts, émerveillé par la neige qui tombe]

Pour plus de renseignements sur le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA), communiquez avec votre établissement d'enseignement d'origine.

[Logos : ÉduCanada et Gouvernement du Canada]

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-04-19